MAENAD & THE RAVERS dévoile un album acoustique

Le projet de Darkwave / Ethereal Wave psychédélique hongkongais, Maenad & the Ravers vient de dévoiler un nouvel album entièrement acoustique. Il s'intitule Cold Sweat and Aborted Dreams: A Collection of Wayward Songs et se découvre en streaming intégral ci-dessous.
Cecilia, frontwoman du groupe explique : "Well, we’re still working on our second album and I just got bored waiting! Hahaha…so over this past weekend, I decided to work on this project that I hadn’t told anyone about.

Over the years, I’ve written a bunch of songs, but Ming and I never got around to practicing many of the acoustic ones together, cause it’s hard to do it with a computer. So we usually don’t play acoustic or “quiet” songs at our live shows. But I was going through my recordings recently and I realized that I really like some of these more wayward songs, so I thought it would be cool to put them together in a compilation album.

I didn’t want to wait forever to get it done, so I decided to do all the recording and mixing myself to keep the process fast and simple. It’s not perfect, but it’s more authentic to what I have in mind. These songs are very intimate to me, with some being personal expressions like a diary and others being thoughts on books or stories that I’ve read. Some were written years ago and others very recently.

I think there are many faces to Maenad’s music. People usually know us for the heavier, louder stuff, but ‘Cold Sweat and Aborted Dreams: A Collection of Wayward Songs’ shows a completely different side, and I’m very happy with the result."

Tracklist :

01. Dead Spell - 03:39
02. Chaos Magic Pebbles - 04:52
03. Hasten off the Night - 02:24
04. Moonlight Exudes - 03:03
05. I Recall a Memory - 03:44
06. Tearful Moon - 02:47
07. Do this or Die - 03:09
08. Labor Class Love - 02:03
09. Void 4 - 04:14